Archive for June 30, 2008

Platitudes and hope

I know that when a door closes a window opens.

But I am tired of crawling through windows.

I know that silence is golden.

But my voice demands to be heard.

I know that I am powerful beyond measure.

But I want the comfort of protection.

I know that good things come to those who wait.

But sometimes I’m impatient.

I know that if you love something you have to let it go.

But I want to hold on to what I love and cling to it.

I know that time heals all wounds.

But the more time passes the more wounds I amass.

I know that the darkest hour is just before dawn.

But I want to sit in the radiant sun.

I know that great minds think alike.

But I don’t know why there aren’t more great minds.

I know that that which does not kill me will only make me stronger.

But I don’t need to bench press a house.

I know that hope springs eternal.

No buts.