50 Book Challenge

I’ve joined the 50BookChallenge community at Livejournal which is pretty cool. I had used that account for the class I taught last semester but I like some of their communities so I’m sticking around there but keeping my blog here.

I wonder about setting a number of books as a goal though. At what point does it become more about HOW MUCH you are reading than about WHAT you are reading…

I already read 2-3 books per week so for me it’s fun to see what other folks are reading. It’s also cool to keep track of my own print consumption and be forced to write intelligently about what I read, even if it’s what I consider fluff.

I should join a 50 Films Challenge forum too so I can be well-rounded.

6 Comments »

  1. H Said:

    hey!

    thanks for the 3kingcard. the only hello from pr this season!
    are you done with the thesis?
    h

  2. thealeticia Said:

    Done you say? Done? Am I done with my thesis? Surely you jest!

    Am I done with Ph.D applications which are all due next week? Ha!

    Am I done with the pile of laundry that has been growing since getting back from vacation? As if.

    You’ll see the fireworks from your window when I’m done with my Thesis.
    😛
    ¿Cómo te va a ti?

  3. H Said:

    hi:

    donde solicitaste y en que programas?

    a mi? como me va? pues me va muy bien y honestamente me fascina esto aca. ahora van a hacer un certificado graduado en cine!!!

  4. thealeticia Said:

    Estoy en las de solicitar a Michigan, Indiana, UMass y PennState. Estoy solicitando en depts de communicacion (they all have different trendy names you know how it is) y en PennState en el famoso programa de Educacion. Empeze todo tarde asi es que no se si se me de pero si no lo logro para este semestre tengo todo adelantado para el año que viene. Que odiosas son estas solicitudes!!!!!

    Me imagino que estas dandote tremendo banquete por alla! Estas de fellowship verdad? No estas dando clases?

  5. H Said:

    yep soy fellow por dos años y se supone que TA por tres mas. el package era por 5 años.
    esas solicitudes son super odiosas. y sobre todo el statement ese! uff

  6. Antibush Said:

    Bush goes ballistic about other countries being evil and dangerous, because they have weapons of mass destruction. But, he insists on building up even a more deadly supply of nuclear arms right here in the US. What do you think? Is killing thousands of innocent civilians okay when you are doing a little government makeover?
    If ever there was ever a time in our nation’s history that called for a change, this is it!
    The more people that the government puts in jails, the safer we are told to think we are. The real terrorists are wherever they are, but they aren’t living in a country with bars on the windows. We are.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

