Pie Crust

First a disclaimer, I’ve not slept enough to really have social filters up. This applies to blogging as well as hallway conversations. You know the commercials with the beer drunk frat boy hugging people and slopping “I love you man”s all over. That’s my emotional state. Ranging from that to the potential sociopath.

I put the grrr in swinger today and not in the fun way.

And furthermore, I had pie crust for breakfast. It was in the freezer waiting to be turned into pie, but it turned into breakfast. Yum!

So, that being said. I have finally completed for the editor the Hitchcock paper I’ve procrastinated about revising for way too long. I’m actually excited about the final product, Spellbound Doors: Surrealism, Psychoanalysis and Sexuality, we’ll see what he says.

I am always surprised at how satisfying really long footnotes can be to write. 🙂

Now I’m at work on the longer paper,
Reden ist Silber, Schweigen ist Gold: Foreign Language as Silence in Hitchcock’s Lifeboat, The Man Who Knew Too Much and Topaz which I’d dropped a bit this semester.

Two things are on my mind today. One being that seriously, I love what I do. I love writing. I love reading. I love thinking. I love teaching. I love analyzing. I love research. I have the funnest occupation in the world (yes, gente that was deliberate. I always see asses twitch when I say things like FUNNEST!).

And, not unrelated,
I am sometimes reminded of how fortunate I am to have people who love and support me, even though I’m in total nerd mode, even though I don’t get out much these days, even though I don’t feel like I’ve been a very good friend. There are always people around to remind me that it doesn’t matter. That is hard to believe but most welcome. I needed the reminder and I’m grateful for it.

1 Comment »

  1. H Said:

    welcome to the club of the quintessential stigma:
    “preference for books over beer “


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

