Mango Ginger Shrimp

Because a few of you have asked I'll actually publicly post the secret recipe. I don't measure when I cook so if you need more specific quantity info let me know and I'll try to oblige.

  • Shrimp (duh! although it's delicious with chicken also)
  • Fresh ginger (MUST BE FRESH!)
  • A few fresh oranges
  • 1-2 Lemon or key lime
  • 4-5 mangoes (I'm talking about the small ones, if you have the big mama jamma mangoes then 1 or 2 will suffice) sliced
  • soy sauce
  • 1 head garlic squished (technical culinary term)
  • green onions
  • fresh broccoli
  • 1-2 red peppers
  • 1/2 an onion (sliced thin)
  • sesame oil
  • Red pepper flakes

You want to prepare the juicey stuff first.  Squeeze a few oranges and one or two limes in a container, add some soy sauce (if you pin me down to quantities I'd say about 3-4 tbsp).  Add red pepper flakes to taste.  Then you can set that aside.

Now, in the sesame oil you want to stir up the garlic, ginger, onions and shrimp till it is cooked through.  It smells delcious already!

Then add the juicy part and let it simmer for a while.  It smells even better now.

Add the mangoes and let it simmer a bit more.

Then, finally add green onions, broccoli (I usually steam it lightly before adding it), and red pepper.  If you're not drooling by now something is seriously wrong with you!

And, you're done! 

I like to garnish with fresh cilantrillo and some additional mango and a sprinkle of cayenne.  It's delicious and a beautiful dish (if I get the pics from Agnes I'll post them here), low calorie and quite easy to prepare. 

Buen provecho!

Shrimp!

4 Comments »

  1. Stella Said:

    YES! Recipes! I’m drowning my stress with cooking, so this has come at a most fortunate time. I’ve done mango chicken before, but much simpler than this I’m afraid…xD

    By the way, holy crap at Jose’s thesis…I think I just felt dumb for the second time today. (First being the Morphosyntax exam. Ugh.)

  2. thealeticia Said:

    Enjoy the recipe, let me know how it turns out for you. Yummy!

    Agnes and I are probably going to study for Morphosyntax. You want in on that? Our genius *snarf!* might rub off on you.

  3. Stella Said:

    I’m waiting for the mutant mangos in the yard to drop, so I’ll tell you when I do it. 🙂

    If it’s not too much of a bother, it would be great if I could study with you guys. You tell me when! In the mean time, I’ll light candles in prayer of hope to pass this test. >.>

  4. thealeticia Said:

    Email me tu telefono chica and I’ll let you know when we’re gonna morph.
    T


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

