Thoughts on music

After enduring way too much Chicago (I know, one song is too much) on the jukebox yesterday at a bar, I got to thinking about how cool–and diverse–my friends’ musical interests are.

I’m still looking forward to hearing Titus’ band which I had to miss. There’s always Yauco! I never thought I’d be getting back into Metal but it does take me back. I’m not sure it’s going to be my new favorite music (that’s reggaetón ;))
but I appreciate his dedication to his craft and how seriously he takes his work as a musician. And I love hearing him coming down the hallways by the sounds of his music which is always blasting on his discman (hooray for techonology, no more walkman).

Then, of course there’s André with his Salsa, Latin Jazz, and Hip Hop, which I know enough about to appreciate his superiority. Since I don’t think he reads my blog I can say that without fearing any head-swelling will go on. 😛 I was also surprised at the drum circle by his enthusiasm and rhythm. Very cool!

Joe’s musical contribution to my life is dubious since it mostly consists of singing one line of an obscure (yet annoying) song over and over ad nauseum until I want to claw my ears off. And Dylan.

M’s enthusiasm for Roots is super cool. I love the Damian Marley CD she burned for me. I really like learning about this stuff! It actually fits in with my own preference for music with social messages.

And of course, there’s always the drum circles, the Stones and righteous jazz. And “sensuous music” and bellydancing. LOL nevermind.

I went to a workshop once on teaching peace and uses of music in the classroom. I was working in early education at the time but many of the concepts still apply. One of the presenter’s points was on how music immediately made a group out of individuals. Once everyone is involved in making the music, the individual is subsumed by the collective effort. This is certainly true of activities like drumming circles, chanting or choirs. But any group can be brought to that point. Of course, when you are dealing with adults (and not just early childhood educators, who are usually willing to be creative and/or silly) this is not easy to get to.

I wish we could begin our department meetings with some good Roots. I’d even do Dylan if Joe sang.

13 Comments »

  1. Titus Said:

    Hey

    Tito here.

    Hey… Distorted blasting is what is what it’s all about…

    loved the one on stretch marks… especially since we are surrounded by plastic dickheads..

    but hey
    long live dissidence, long live “alienation” …

    and raise those middle fingers towards to the indoctrinated bastard jocks who will be sickened…

    Titus

  2. Andre Said:

    Thank you for acknowledging my musical superiority.
    By the way that Damien Marley CD, the one you like so much, was burned by me from my world renown private collection. Please!!! Do you really think that Myrta would have the grandiour knowlegde of her beloved genre of music(reagea) without me.

    All knowledge emanates from me.

    I am the musical source.

  3. Joe Said:

    Well, Andre, the self-proclaimed “musical source” does not know how to bunr a CD, so, in reality, without me “Myrta [sic.] would [not] have the grandiour knowledge of her beloved genre of music,” or whatever this arrogant DICK-head wants to say.

    I am the Walrus.

  4. Apostrophe Said:

    “The ghost of electricity howls in the bones of her face”

    I will post an “obscure” line from a Dylan song every other day until the status quo releasse us from the mainstream prison in which we are destined to live.

    Bad music is good music. Listen to the lyrics.

  5. Teets Said:

    Tsk Tsk Tsk I am the original Roots freak, and non of you would have known about the grandiour of Roots without my enlightning contribution about the genre. About Damien, Andre I heartly appreciate you burning the cd for me, but remember who told you about it in the first place. I know your friend had talked to you about it but I was the one who encouraged you to get it (no personal interest though 😉 ) By the way don’t forget about Matisyahu that will be the next on y’all list. Nah!! just kidding.

    I am thankful for your appreciation in my choice of music. However let us not forget that Roots is not just a genre but it is rather a lifestyle. I wish there was a concert we could all attent so you can have a little taste of what it is all about. I know you guys took a glimpse of this world at “cinco dias” but trust me it is way different when it’s all about reggae. I will see you soon for your next Roots lesson. Don’t forget to turn in your report on the different uses of incense and aromatic herbs within the context of roots music. It is due next week. ‘Till then 🙂

    ps: I might teach you also about Sublime. If anyone is interested let me know.

  6. Andre Said:

    WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!….You encouraged me to buy the CD and told me about it?????? I told you that I went to Borders and listened to the whole CD of Damian Marley and said I wanted to buy it but it was too expensive so I was waiting until I went to NY….and then you asked me….Who’s Damien Marley Andre?…and I said…Don’t worry Myrta…i WILL ENLIGHTEN YOU!….and within this conversation no where did you inform me of this CD…you didn’t even know that it was released nor that it was going to be released…..embellishing alittle are we???? Yes …I think so! Please!!! Although you are a true roots freak,I must stand to correct you, roots IS a genre of music, the life style would actually be called Rastafarian. Please go back home and review your Bob Marley Legend CD booklet…I’m sure that information is somewhere included.

  7. Joe Said:

    Andre, would you stop misspelling Mirta’s name.

  8. thealeticia Said:

    Joe honey,

    I think Andre will stop misspellling Mirta’s name when you stop mispronouncing his. 😛

    Andre,

    Just For My Information wtf is gradiour knowledge? Does it come in sixpacks?

  9. Joe Said:

    Oh. Sorry Myrta.

  10. Mirta Said:

    I know Andre I guess you told me about DM. I agree about the Rastafarian lifestyle. However if you listen carefully there’s a lot of Rastafarian influence in that music. “you got to keep on walking on the road to zion. Roots is like Rastafarian Gospel.

  11. Apostrophe Said:

    “Well, I’m livin’ in a foreign country but I’m bound to cross the line, beauty walks on a razor’s edge, someday I’ll make it mine.”

    Bad music is good music. Listen to the lyrics.

  12. Apostrophe Said:

    As we listened one last time an’ we watched with one last look Spellbound an’ swallowed ’til the tolling ended, Tolling for the aching ones whose wounds cannot be nursed, For the countless confused, accused, misused, strung-out ones an’ worse
    An’ for every hung-up person in the whole wide universe
    An’ we gazed upon the chimes of freedom flashing.

  13. TheaLeticia Said:

    My dear apostrophe– I’ve missed your wit and whimsy so!
    I’m glad to see you’re making good on the obscure lyrics.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

